But ‘Yours faithfully’ did seem a bit OTTl for a letter written in a fairly friendly style – I’m an illustrator/designer, not in finance or law or something – so I just finished with ‘Thanks’. Others The way you sign off a letter all comes down to the context. is that wrong then? Our journalists strive for accuracy but on occasion we make mistakes.